Xi'an, Mogilev in Belarus twin as sister cities

2023-03-15 14:00:46 , Source : en.xa.gov.cn

Xi'an, capital of Northwest China's Shaanxi province and the Belarusian city of Mogilev recently officially became sister cities, according to the Xi'an municipal foreign office.

That has brought the total number of Xi'an's sister cities to 39.

The sun goes down at Mogilev in Belarus. [Photo provided by Xi'an municipal foreign office]

The sister city agreement was signed by Foreign Minister of Belarus, Sergei Aleinik and Li Mingyuan, mayor of Xi'an.

Founded in 1267, Mogilev is located in the east of Belarus. It is the third largest city in the country, as well as the capital of Mogilev Oblast and one of the largest industrial centers in Belarus. It has broad potential for commercial and other cooperation with Xi'an in a range of areas.

In February 2019, Xi'an and Mogilev signed a letter of intent to develop sister city relations. Since then, the two have carried out close exchanges through platforms such as the Euro Asian Economic Forum and the Silk Road International Exposition.

Moving forwards, they plan to further develop joint interests in the fields of industry, trade, culture and tourism – and to continue to deepen their friendly relations.