Chuy Province (Kyrgyzstan)

2017-04-11 09:56:47 , Source : The Government Website of Shaanxi Province

Chuy Province is a raion (district) of Chuy Region in northern Kyrgyzstan. Its area is 1,756 square kilometres (678 sq mi), and its resident population was 47,017 in 2009. The district surrounds the city of Tokmok, but does not include it. The district capital lies at Chuy.


Chuy Province is located in the eastern part of Chuy Valley. Its southern part spreads into Kyrgyz Ala-Too Mountains. Chu River and its tributaries Shamshy River, Kegeti River, etc. dominate the hydrology. There are a number of glaciers feeding tributaries in Kyrgyz Ala-Too such as Shamshy Glacier, Kel-Ter, etc. The climate is continental.


In total, Chuy Province includes 10 rural communities (aiyl okmotus). Each rural community can consist of one or several villages. As of 2009, Chuy Province included 38 villages. Its population, according to the Population and Housing Census of 2009, was 47,017.

Famous people born in Chuy Province

• Ashyraaly Botaliev, born in 1906, opera and drama artist
• Djamankul Djenchuraev, born in 1907, Kyrgyz and Soviet writer, border guard
• Asankan Djumakmatov, born in 1923, orchestral conductor
• Sultan Ibraimov, born in 1927, politician
• Kalmyrza Sarpek uulu, born in 1866, akyn


Powered by: E-government Office of Shaanxi Province    Commerce Department of Shaanxi Province
Foreign Affairs Office of Shaanxi Province   Shaanxi Provincial Tourism Development Commission